The $500. Cherry

The culprit

The culprit

I admit it, I like to live life on the edge. Just a little dangerously.

Let me clarify this for you – sometimes I don’t wash my produce before I eat it! I can hear your shock. I know – I’m playing a dangerous game here. There are days that lettuce goes straight into my salad bowl without the benefit of being soaked in water and plump juicy raspberries get placed gently over my cereal right out of the box.

But there’s something about cherries that screams “Wash Me”! Maybe it’s the vision playing in my head of hundreds of grubby hands touching every single cherry in the display to find just that perfect one. Whatever the reason, I  had to wash the cherries.

Picture ripe, juicy, cold, just washed cherries.With the bowl in my hand, I have this overwhelming need to check Facebook on my laptop – which was coincidently on my lap. Now envision this like it’s a movie playing in slow motion – I take a cherry – a nice ripe, juicy, cold, wet one and put it to my mouth and oops! there falls a teeny tiny drop of water onto the trackpad of my computer. I absently wipe it away and think nothing of it. Until my cursor begins a life of its own on the screen. Windows open and close, pictures jump from one corner to the other and I’m trying not to panic. OMG. I have lost complete control of my cursor/computer.

The next morning I literally ran to the Apple store (fortunately it’s only a few blocks away) and begged them to please fix my laptop. Great news – $100. to replace the trackpad. Terrific – do it. Within ten minutes of my arrival at home, I get a call saying that they made a mistake – because it’s a retina display they must replace the entire bottom part of my computer. Seriously Apple Genious? You couldn’t tell it was a retina display when I brought it to you? So – the bad news – $500. to fix it. Can you hear me crying?

So that’s how one cherry came to cost me $500.

Moral of the story – keep your ripe, juicy, cold, just washed cherries away from the computer. Or live dangerously and don’t wash your cherries. Whatever.

~ by Debby Jamroz on July 19, 2014.